Train Up A Child In The Way He Should Go

I wrote this a few months back and for some reason didn’t publish.  Anyway, here it is…

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

With the passing of American legend Dick Clark the other day, I got to thinking.

(are you done laughing yet?)

Seriously, I was thinking.  Mostly about music, but also about the great actors and actresses that we’ve lost in the last 10+ years.  I hate to sound like an old fart, but honestly… who is out there in this day and age that means as much to us in the way of film and music (both vocal and compositions) that can replace these giants?  Who is the next John Williams?  Steven Spielberg?

I don’t know about you, but I feel a huge responsibility to educate my kids with all kinds of music and film from past generations so that these things are not lost.  When I saw the film “Hugo” which is based on The Invention of Hugo Cabret by film royalty Brian Selznick, it was sad to me to see how even in one generation so much appreciation was lost for the pioneers of film.

Whatever your passion, be it music, film, sport, science, literature; I hope you take time to share these things with your children (or maybe nieces & nephews) and pass on to them the greatness of the past as well as present day giants.

Comments here ---> (please?)