De Nial, a.k.a. A River Runs Through Me

It’s 11:44 p.m. and I just finished watching disc 5 of 6 in Season 9 of “ER”.  Know what Honey’s doing?

Packing.

Yeah.  I want to want to go in there and help him, but I left my valium in the car.

No, we don’t have a house yet.  We’re just getting ready.  Because life’s like that.  We’ll have to move on the fly or something, and if you’ve never witnessed one of my MAJOR MOTION MELTDOWN!!!s, you’ll want to stop by.  I’ll be in Summer Blockbuster mode.

This Body Will Self-Destruct In 9 Seconds

That’s what I feel like every morning.  MI:5 sent me a secret message and arranged for it to self-destruct inside my head.  I mean, why else would I wake up wishing I were dead?  I guess it could be headaches, but it sounds much more glamorous if espionage is involved.  Don’t you think?

On a completely unrelated note:

Yesterday B and I went up to Auburn to visit the fandamily.  It was supposed to be all of us, but Auntie G (on Saturday) said the air was too bad from the fires for us to go kayaking on the lake.  I’m sorry, I know I have a lot of pharmaceuticals, but not that many!  I mean, can you imagine me locked up in the basement with the three Tasmanian devils from Hell all whining about how they want to go to the lake/play outside on the tree swing for 6 hours?  With 17 other people in the house?  Full of child unfriendly beautiful things?

Except that when we got there, a Christmukhuh miracle had occurred and the smoke blew away sometime between waking up and after lunch.

B thoroughly enjoyed himself kayaking with his aunties G & J and cousin K on the lake while other cousin K, cousin M, and I lounged on the shore.  K’s girlfriend, R, was with us also.  Making friends with the fishies in her floaties.  I didn’t think it was possible for anybody to have whiter legs than me, until I met R.  She’s a chiropractic acupuncturist healthy type person, and lots of fun!  Did I mention she’s whiter than me?  Now I’m not the only one blinding the underwater animals!
My family is so nutso.  I love them.

On the way up, B and I had to stop at Chick-fil-A for lunch.  This is THE BEST drive-thru chicken in the known universe.  It’s one of the few things I’ve missed more than a little from when we lived in Utah.  They opened up one in Roseville about two years ago.  I went online to get directions and what to my wondering eye should appear, but TWO OTHER LOCATIONS TO CHOOSE FROM!!!  I may not have a house yet, but Chick-fil-A is getting closer and closer to me.  That almost makes up for it.  Almost.

Then, under the impression that we’d be cooped up in the house all day, we stopped at the bookstore to get B a new book so he’d have something to read during our stay.  We, ok I, browsed in the store for almost as long as it took me to get to Auburn.  (Did you know it takes me 2+ hours to drive there?)  I now have (or rather had since I can’t find it now!) a rawther long list of books to add to my other list of books I want to read.  I sort of pushed the book B got on him, but I just knew he’d love it.  Sure enough, he didn’t even finish the first chapter before coming to me and telling me how glad he was we got it.  That bad boy has already read 200 of the 485 pages of “The Mysterious Benedict Society” !  My reasons were good.  It was LONG (he couldn’t finish it in an hour like he does with the Hardy Boys series), it was just about his level (maybe a little above?), and it involved smart kids with challenges that you could also complete (which he loves to do!).  Plus, it was like, 3 times the amount of book for the same price as the other condensed versions of current summer blockbuster movies!

Ok.  I was hoping to go to bed before midnight tonight, but seeing as how it’s 12:07 a.m. I think I’ve blown it.  I’m going for it anyway.  The kids are watching “Superman Returns” tomorrow, maybe they can fly around the earth counter-clockwise a bit for me so I can make it to bed on time…