Stinko De Mayo

In my family we have a tradition called “Stinko de Mayo”.  It’s our tribute to Mexican culture and it started when we were kids between my mom and her brother. Like Cinco de Mayo, it falls on May 5th every year.  Our celebration lasts only for 10 minutes, and the goal is to be the first person to call another family member up at some ungodly hour of the night (or more inappropriately, morning!) and trill, shout, and in other ways loudly carry on the merriment at the top of your lungs in your best Spanish about how happy you are that you “got” someone before they got you!

Then, you laugh hysterically while your family member cusses at you on the other end of the call because they didn’t get you first, and say goodnight until next year.  I have tried to carry it forward in my own family as an adult, but I worry now that Mom is gone no one else will want to play.  We’ll see…. heh heh heh