But You’re Not Catholic?

My kids (and some of my friends) keep asking me why I participate in Lent, even though I’m not Catholic. 

Well my children, I may not be big “C” Catholic, but I am lowercase catholic, and there’s a difference. (Imma let you Google that.)

My understanding of Lent is rudimentary at best. In my mind I’m supposed to give something up for 40 days, Christ in the desert and all that. It should be a sacrifice, but I wanted to pick something I could be reasonably successful at so I picked “f*ck”.  Every time I am tempted, I remember that this is a journey to bring me closer to God and my Savior Jesus Christ.

I mean business celebrating Lent, so after grumbling about the few times I’ve slipped I decided to donate $1 to charity as a means of repentance.  I was going to go with KIVA, but I think I am going to look into how I can help closer to home this time.

And that is why I celebrate Lent!

Comments here ---> (please?)

