What A Whirlwind!

I’ve been trying to write for the longest time, but my life keeps getting in the way!  So many stories I’ve wanted to share, so many things I’ve wanted to talk about; but my new herbal medication has me feeling mentally awake and alert for the first time in a long while, and I find myself being a more active participant in life than I ever have before.  All of a sudden I find myself happily volunteering to drive kids places or help out with something at their school and not resenting it.  The best part is that now that I feel more whole, I have more to give.

We had an amazing Christmas in Oregon with my cousin K and her wife C! They invited us up to their rural property in Eugene where they have horses and chickens and cooked breakfasts.  We played games and shopped local, it couldn’t have been more perfect!  After we arrived home, we didn’t stop with the fun.  We finally had time to go see Star Wars: The Force Awakens and it.  was.  AMAZEBALLS.  Words fail further discussion on the topic at this moment.  Except to say that I totally cried as soon as the title flashed on the screen and the word wall began to scroll, letting us know what’s up since Episode VI.  And that I saw the THING coming.  Called it as soon as I found out about the family connection.  Wasn’t sure if it would be this film or a future one, but I called it all the same and now I will accept my gold star on my crown and move on.

We visited Honey’s family in San Jose to ring in the New Year.  His parents had made it to town for an extended visit with Grandma & Grandpa so we got to see them, too.  It’s always nice to visit and we are so lucky to be able to spend as much time with them as we do; but this time the visit felt a little strained and that was a bummer.  I’m sure it’s because of the… eventful… year we’ve had, but also because Grandma & Grandpa continue to decline in health and it’s hard to watch that.

New Year’s Day, Honey and I were able to visit with another cousin in Walnut Creek; who was here visiting from Colorado.  It was very fun to catch up on family news and a nice way to wind up the holiday season.  I’m sad for all the writing material I lost by not being able to find the time or place to write without distraction, but I don’t regret spending the time with my family and kids that kept me from doing this.

Life is good my friends.  I hope 2016 brings good things to you.

Comments here ---> (please?)

