One Month Later

Well, we’re still here.  We had quite a short honeymoon period and now we’re in the place where there is a LOT of work to do.  And it’s very slow going.  Not for lack of desire to, but more due to time constraints.  One of us is busy every minute of the day, the other of us is trying to cope with suddenly being 90% less mobile than before.  But we’re still here, and we’re still committed.  And I have a question for you:

When someone utterly ruins your ability to trust them, how do you move forward?  I have forgiven him completely, but the hurt is so deep… I don’t know if I can ever let go of that.  I want to… I desperately want to… but for now it seems that I just can’t.  And I don’t know what it takes to recover that.  I think it probably just takes time, and that’s fine I guess, I just don’t want it to take forever.

Nobody talks about these things.  It’s deeply personal, I can understand why, but then how do we know what to do?  Who do we look to for an example of how to repair a relationship?  And nobody better say Jesus because though he may have been married (or not), there are precisely zero examples of this in the scriptures.

One thought on “One Month Later

  1. I honestly think it’s a matter of time and earning trust back. But it takes time (a lot of time sometimes). I don’t know your exact situation, but I’d say lots of communication, lots of accountability checks, with heavy doses of continued mistrust and hurt until one day you realize you can trust again. I think it’s possible, but one of the most difficult things to do in a relationship. You guys will be in my thoughts. Make sure you take care of you. If your cup isn’t full, it’s hard to maintain any other relationships in life. (Oh, and I totally don’t have anything in life figured out, so keep that in mind when reading my advice.)

Comments here ---> (please?)

