To Utah, With Love (written Sunday, June 22)

I’m back from my trip to visit my Utah Girls.  I wish I had been able to stay longer as I am entirely unready to re-enter my regular life, but alas…. duty calls.  Well, more like my anniversary called, but since I was so swollen upon return all I could do was sit on my ass with my legs in the air and wait for time to pass.  Rather slowly, I might add.  It seems like I’ve been back for weeks, not 48 hours!

I have emerged with a new title, Fearless Leader, and strengthened bonds of friendship for another 6-12 months, or until my next Utah trip.  I really wish I could go more often, but then the visits wouldn’t be as sweet and we’d become too familiar to each other to not take things for granted.  This way, the next time is so far away it makes us make this time together count.

 

Things that I learned on this trip:

  • Utah does have drive-thru Starbucks, there just aren’t any along I-80 between California and Tooele, UT.!
  • Everything good (ok, Starbucks) closes at freaking 7:00 p.m., even in Park City!  That’s like, Utah’s personal Mos Eisley for food and drink so I can’t figure out for the life of me why the early bedtime, but alas… that shall remain a mystery for another time.
  • Certain people should not be allowed to be hosts at places of business that serve the public.  Especially if they work at the Baja Cantina and their name starts with L and they dress like a pirate.
  • Alka Seltzer cures nausea for up to 6 hours
  • Sonic’s chili cheese tots are of the devil and should never be eaten no matter how yummy they sound.
  • The Training Table has sweet potato cheese fries.  They are NOT as good as regular cheese fries.  (Will not be making this mistake again)
  • Trips without your children are WAY more fun than you anticipate them to be!
  • Missy’s in-laws need a karaoke machine for their cabin.
  • Despite being at the summit of THE HILL, I can still party until 4:30 a.m. like the rock star that I am.

As usual, I didn’t get to see everyone that I wanted to.  Sometimes I wonder if my requests to get together are more of a chore than a pleasure.  I’ve recently come to learn that getting together (for others) is not the end-all, be-all that it is for me.  It’s hard not to take that personally, but I’m working on it.  My friends uplift me so much, I’m happy if all the time they have for me is the car ride to the grocery store.  I wish I could better put into words what these women mean to me, but it only matters that I know, and I do.

So Utah, I love you!  I miss you!  It was hard to come from the beautiful, green, tree covered valley and mountains to the brown, flat, dirty and dusty place that I live; but Ana Banana gave me a song that brings all the good things back to mind about why I love living here and now I’m going to leave it with you.  If you don’t have time to listen, please come back and do it later!  You won’t regret it.  I’ll post the lyrics at the bottom, too.

 

 

Always Come Back

by Niki & Tim Bluhm

Don’t you wanna go where the big trees grow
Kelp forests waving in the sea?
Opening day on San Francisco bay
Sailboats as far as you can see.

May comes along, the days are getting long
Snow still covers the mountains
Sunset goes and the universe grows
So many star you have to stop counting

Chorus:
I’ll always come back to California
I’ll always come back
I’ll keep coming back to California
I’ll always come back to you

Poppies in the spring make the mission bells ring
Rivers running freely over stone
A pick-bangs the strings and everybody sings
The wind from the east is gently blowing

Crops are on the ground autumn’s coming round
West-bound fifty is where I can be found
Home is in the heart
It’s where I got my start
One thing I know whenever I depart

Chorus:
I’ll always come back to California
I’ll always come back
I’ll keep coming back to California
I’ll always come back to you

One thought on “To Utah, With Love (written Sunday, June 22)

  1. I love you girl! I hope that you are still wearing my awesome bracelet that reminds you how much I love you and that you are never alone my sweet friend!!! Grab a coke or go through a Starbucks drive thru and a iced coffee! And know that I’m with you in sprit 🙂 always…

Comments here ---> (please?)

