Blockbuster Video

Once upon a time there used to be this awesome thing that local movie theaters would host called a “Summer Movie Program” or “Camp”.  They would show popular movies released within the last few years and admission was free or $1, depending on the chain.

A couple of years ago my theater discontinued this program “due to lack of participation”.  WTF?  Theaters filled to capacity is considered lack of participation?  Huh…

This was bad news for me because it was my one sanity saver that I could depend on that didn’t involve public parks and the liberal application of sunscreen.  Also, it was basically free.  (Did I mention the free part?)

Lucky for me though, AMC (which is my only theater option in this god forsaken town) has pretty decent admission prices ($5 all shows M-Th, F, S & S before noon. $7.50 F, S & S between noon and 4 p.m., then $10.50 all other times and holidays) and they also have a frequent flyer program called AMC Stubs.

For $12 annual membership you earn a $10 reward for every $100 you spend in tickets and concessions.  If me and my three kids (and once in awhile the hubs) sees 5 movies and orders a Coke (or ten) from the concession counter, those rewards add up right quick!  There are other benefits which I will let you go to the website to find.

I think my favorite time of year, I would even venture so far as to say I like it as much as or more than Christmas, is the summer movie season.  Oh hell, just summer all over.  But especially the movies.  I’m constantly checking IMDB.com for what’s new and what’s in the pipeline over the next year or so.  Right around the end of March I start making my plans.  I find each film’s opening date and then schedule one movie a week (sometimes TWO!) for the entire summer!

Today was my “Opening Day”.  Actually, if we want to get technical it started last Thursday when I went with the kids’ school to see “42”, but since I’m not a big baseball fan I didn’t include that on my lineup.  Now that I’ve seen it though, it definitely makes the cut.  It’s not a huge blockbuster blowup robot fest, but it’s a GREAT story and that’s equally important.

Today B and I saw “Oblivion” starring Tom Cruise.

Now I personally think Mr. Cruise is a bit of a whack job, but I also think he’s a pretty good actor and he’s definitely done some good, nay, great work.  Plus, I love me some post-apocalyptic, mankind conquers the evil aliens kind of action and there’s loads of that going on in this film.  I will say no more except that it has a major mind-bender at the end that the average bear will not see coming.  I, however, am smarter than the average bear and figured it out 2 minutes before the reveal.  I consider that a superior quality plot point if I get that close before guessing what’s coming.

If you’d like to join me, here are the films I’ll be watching this summer:

  • May – Iron Man 3,The Great Gatsby, Star Trek Into Darkness
  • June – Now You See Me, Man of Steel, The Heat, Monsters University, White House Down (?)
  • July – Despicable Me 2, The Way, Way Back; World War Z, The Lone Ranger, Pacific Rim, R.I.P.D., Red 2, Turbo
  • August – Elysium, Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters, Mortal Instruments: City of Bones

Now that I examine it more closely I guess there are fewer movies that I can take all the kids to, but at least I’ll be having a great time with my oldest son at the theater!

Comments here ---> (please?)

