Ah, Love!

Another of my great musical loves is Bon Jovi.

I was on my way to pick Honey up from his night job, switching stations, and I hear a familiar sound call to me:

“I don’t wanna be another wave in the ocean
I am a rock not just another grain of sand
I wanna be the one you run to when you need a shoulder
I ain’t a soldier but I’m here to take a stand
Because we can!”

And it gave me strength.

Then I started to think of all the newer artists and bands and wondered who would still be around 20, 30, 50 years from now?  Who’s got that staying power?

I’m not sure there’s been any recent artist that does, which gives me mixed feelings.

On the one hand, I feel so sad for the future of music.  There will always be good music.  Evolving and changing and new sound, always a good thing.  But what will happen to the music of our time, and the times before us?  Are my great-great grandkids going to be taking a music history class and instead of Beethoven and Mozart, classical music will be KISS and the Eagles?

But on the other hand… what an amazing part of time to exist in the world!  Look at what we’ve been given, artistically!  So very many great men and women enriching our lives with their art – be it film, music, theater, paint, sculpture…

I wonder if each generation past feels this way?

 

Comments here ---> (please?)

