Popcorn Popping

First, I must apologize for any typos or spelling errors.  I’m tapping this out on my phone as my internet is down and I just don’t feel the need to call Comcast and deal with it today.

Now back to our regularly scheduled programming!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

For the last few weeks Spring has sprung and the almond trees have been in bloom.  It’s completely intoxicating to catch their scent as I drive over the hill above the train tracks, and my joy is compounded by seeing an old farm house’s chickens at the edge of their unpaved driveway, foraging for breakfast.  Somehow, they manage to stay off the road as none of them have been turned into roadkill yet; and I look forward to greeting them each morning as I take the boys to school.  “Good morning, chickens!”

When mom moves out and the absence of her ginormous bird dog makes it safe, I totally want to have 2-3 chickens.  Their names will be Lucy, Chicken Joe (named for the surfing rooster in “Surf’s Up”), and Hannah.  Or Olivia.  They may not join us anytime soon, but someday my side yard will be home to them!  Don’t you think it will be so great to have fresh eggs?  I do!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Speaking of birds… I have had this birdfeeder up in my backyard since last summer.  There were many trees (and hence, many birds) in the neighborhood I grew up in.  Not true of where I live now.  Most of the trees closest to my house are palm trees, and I know of no birds that like to hang out there so I put up the feeder in hopes they would come and visit me.  For many months they didn’t, but I noticed just after Christmas they finally started showing up and emptying it!  I was so worried because I’d tried so many different types of seed before and nothing worked until this last bag.  Well, I wish I had kept the empty because when I ran out, I couldn’t remember where I got it.  I finally found the same brand at Safeway, but I knew it wasn’t quite the same seed as before because this bag has bits of fruit in it.  I got it anyway hoping that the birds would like it, but I didn’t see any for a couple of days.  It turns out my fears are unwarranted, I just spotted a beautiful bluejay trying to cherry-pick his favorites out of the feeder holes instead of just eating what was on the tray.

I love birds.  I’m not a huge fanatic about it (although I highly recommend seeing “The Big Year”), but I enjoy their songs.  I remember hearing a certain bird when I was a child growing up in Utah, but has been many long years since I heard those notes. 

One day about 7 years ago I was sitting with my Grandma C in her hospice room waiting for her to pass from this world to the next, and I heard it!  My uncle who will not be named heard it too, and I asked him what kind it was because I knew he was a bit of a birder.  I can’t remember it now, but it turns out this was a special bird for him, too.  He heard it when he came to our home 30 years ago to watch his brother, my dad, die.  “It’s okay, Jim!  It’s okay!” Is what he felt the bird was tweeting to them.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Daylight savings happened last night.  I’m so glad because now I can hear the birds when I wake up in the morning. 

“Whenever I hear the song of a bird,
Or look at the blue, blue sky;
Whenever I feel the rain on my face,
Or the wind as it rushes by;
Whenever I touch a velvet rose,
Or walk by our lilac tree;
I’m glad that I live in this beautiful world
Heavenly Father created for me!”

(“My Heavenly Father Loves Me” – LDS Children’s Songbook p. 228)

One thought on “Popcorn Popping

Comments here ---> (please?)

