Ring-A-Ding Ding!

Once upon a time I had a beautiful wedding ring.  The size of the stone wasn’t much, but it was near flawless and that’s what mattered to me.

One day I went to visit my grandmother in the hospital.  Somewhere between the car and her room, the cage broke off of my ring and took the diamond with it.

We searched and searched, retraced our footsteps, and nothing.  I sincerely hope that whoever found it really needed the money.  I believe they did, otherwise why else would I have to have such a horrible thing happen?

Fast forward nine years or so to today.

My grandma passed away a couple of years ago.  She had promised me I could have the diamond from my grandfather’s Masonic ring to replace the one I lost, but Mom had other ideas for it.  She thought my brother should have the ring, diamond and all.  But, grandma had another ring with five smallish diamonds in it.  From that I could take three and get a replacement diamond.

On Thursday I’m returning to Utah to have two weeks of wonderful memories with friends from years gone by and new friends for years to come.  Somewhere in there I’ll be slipping in an appointment with the jeweler that we bought my ring from.  My incredibly generous and giving husband has been squirreling money away for the repair of my ring which I didn’t know about until tonight when he gave me a romantic card with the money in it.  I didn’t think it was possible to be any more in love with him than I was, but I am.  Whenever I hear that phrase Grow old along with me, the best is yet to be!”, I think of Honey and how lucky I am to be able to believe it.  Because with him, it’s true.

One thought on “Ring-A-Ding Ding!

  1. That is so sweet!

    I recenty lost my diamond gardening at my grandma’s and by some miracle found it! But, it was insured so I wasn’t as devastated as I could have been. Do your self a favor and get it added to your homeowners policy this time, it costs very little and is worth the peace of mind!

Comments here ---> (please?)

