Pruning The Tree

I have reached the point of estrangement where I no longer consider myself a part of my father’s family.  I am appalled at the selfishness and thoughtlessness that extends throughout this branch of my family tree.  I am sad, I am hurt, and I have enough on my plate that I don’t need to keep opening myself up for rejection and more from them.  In many ways it feels like losing my father again.

I wish it were different, but it’s not.  I did my best to be the change and it wasn’t enough.  Now it is their turn to lose.  I am smart, loving, funny, thoughtful, loyal, and a good listener.  Their loss.

One thought on “Pruning The Tree

  1. Sally, I know it will always hurt. Even cutting them out of your life will leave scars. Thankfully, though, it will stop there and they won’t keep inflicting NEW scars. I am proud of you for standing up for yourself and recognizing that you don’t deserve to be treated this way.

    You ARE amazing, awesome, smart, loving, funny, thoughtful, loyal, and a good listener.

    It’s a shame they’ll never know that.

    {{{{{{{{{ HUGS }}}}}}}}

Comments here ---> (please?)

