You Are The Sunshine Soundtrack Of My Life

Me and music are like this: 

It’s a visceral connection we have.  I’m sure music could (and does) do very well without me, but I don’t do without it.  And I have this soundtrack that’s always playing, just like in the movies.  When I was younger all the love songs are what would do me in.  The more tragic, the better.  Of course now that I’ve been married for 14 years I know what real love is and those songs are total crap.  What gets me now are songs that tell stories.  Or songs that when I hear them, I see my life in them – sometimes what it is, sometimes what it feels like it is, and always what it could be if the man weren’t always keeping me down!  Ha ha….

If I can picture the singer or band enjoying themselves when they recorded it, so much the better.  I can feel their passion coming through and giving me a quality product.  If you’re wondering what that sounds like, I’ll give you a hint:  no Auto-Tune involved.

Recently I’ve been hanging on Bon Jovi a lot, but the song that makes me happiest is “Rhythm of Love” by the Plain White T’s.  What about you?  What gets your juices flowing?  What do you sing along with if it comes on, even when people are looking?

2 thoughts on “You Are The Sunshine Soundtrack Of My Life

  1. “Rhythm of Love” popped up on my playlist today and you know it is just Sally’s song to me!

    “Say Hey I Love You” by Michael Franti and Spearhead is still the one that makes me go, PAAAARRRRRRTY! Haven’t found a new one I like that much, yet!

  2. Me too! I tend to gravitate towards songs that describe me in the middle of whatever it is I am going through. Right now I love “King of Anything” by Sara Bareilles and “Firework” by Katy Perry. Those ones fill me with the kick A attitude I need!

Comments here ---> (please?)

