I Scream, You Scream, We All Scream About Sunscreen!

A friend of mine is one of the writers over at one of the more famous Mormon Mommy Blogs.  It’s called MormonMommyWars and today’s writer had sunscreen on her mind.  After she had a fruitless conversation with the pharmacist about Vitamin D deficiency and SPF efficacy she decided to put it to the real experts, the readers of the blog, to get the straight answer.

First of all I would like to say that I firmly believe that 85% of us will die from some kind of cancer and there’s nothing you can do about it.  EVERYTHING causes cancer.  EVERYTHING.  Bad things, good things, too much of this, not enough of that, just the right amount, if it exists it will somehow give you cancer.  I don’t mean to say that you shouldn’t do things to reduce your risk, I’m just saying that if that’s what fate has in store for you you’re screwed no matter what.

Now I will tell you my cancer story.

My dad was a lifeguard every summer of his youth at Green Valley Lake.  He was also an avid outdoorsman and back in the 50’s and 60’s they didn’t know that everything gives you cancer, so they didn’t know that you really should be wearing sunscreen.  So he had moles.  And one day when I was six one of those moles turned into melanoma.  Then it turned into lymphoma.  Finally when I was seven, it grew into an inoperable brain tumor and one day in September of 1982 he died.

Let’s return to 2011.

I live in the Central Valley.  Summer = sunny and friggin’ hot.  We were lucky enough to buy a house with a pool, and boy howdy do my boys make good use of it!  And before they can swim they have to get sprayed with the Coppertone Sport.  Every two hours they gotta dry off and get sprayed again.  And anytime anybody dares to complain about it I say, “Do you need me to tell you the Grandpa Jim story again?”  “Nooooooooo, mom.  Just do it.”

So remember:  When you’re tempted to skimp out on sunscreen cancer’s gonna get you one way or the other, but you don’t have to help it.

Comments here ---> (please?)

