Aftershock & I’m Not So Old After All

Had an aftershock from yesterday’s emotional vomit express train, but recovery was quick.  Now I just need lessons on how to be assertive without being bitchy at the same time.  I don’t try to be, but apparently I really really am.  Tips?  Ideas?  Thanks.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

A couple of weeks ago we went out with another couple from church.  My friend J teaches seminary and one of her students is a budding musician who was performing at a little place in Modesto, so we all went out for a bite to eat while listening to some very brave young people and their bands.  Before I forget, I have to say three words:  SWEET.  POTATO.  FRIES. Holy cheese and rice, Batman!  These are the best things ever to be invented by the health food movement.  Wait, now that I said that they may not have been all that healthy, I can’t remember if they were actually fried or baked?  At any rate, friggin’ awesome!

We all sat at the back table, nowhere near where we could see anybody performing.  At first I felt bad about this, but not for long… We soon found that this was going to be a very loud dining experience, imagine sitting up front by the amps?  Yeah… I’d be needing me some Bel Tones had that been the case!  We heard about 2 or 3 bands and as many solo acts, but I was surprised at how young they were!!  I swear there was this one band and none of them could have been over 10 years old.  How crazy is that?  And as sensitive as my ears are to people who really shouldn’t be singing, it was not at all a torturous experience.  These kids were actually good!

My favorite part?

When J asked me how I knew all these songs that were being performed because she’d never heard of any.  I was floored by this because J has 5 kids ranging in age from 7-16 years old!  Surely she would’ve heard a few of these here and there, but no.  Some of them were from back when I was a teen and she still didn’t recognize them. which was also incredulous to me as J is also 3 years older (but looks 5 younger) than me!  After I got over my astonishment it made me feel awesome to know that I’m not so old that I consider current music complete crap yet.  A huge source of pride and ego boost for me as I dread the day when I am unable to find current music appealing because surely then I will be at death’s door socially, if not literally.

I recently put together a playlist for Honey.  I called it “All My Love”, but I had to change it to “All My Happy” because that’s how I feel when I hear all the songs on it.  As always, in no particular order…

  • Bubbly – Colbie Caillat
  • Put Your Records On – Corinne Bailey Rae
  • Better Together – Jack Johnson
  • Everything – Michael Buble
  • Dream a Little Dream of Me – The Mamas and the Papas
  • I’ve Got You – Ari Hest
  • Rhythm of Love – Plain White T’s
  • Fallin’ for You – Colbie Caillat
  • Falling Slowly – Kris Allen
  • For Once in My Life – Stevie Wonder
  • Lucky (featuring Colbie Caillat) – Jason Mraz
  • Make You Feel My Love (Live) – Adele
  • Need You Now – Lady Antebellum
  • The Sound of Sunshine – Michael Franti
  • Say Hey (I Love You) – Michael Franti
  • Wrapped Up In You – some Garth Brooks soundalike group
  • You Got Me – Colbie Caillat
  • Captain Crash and the Beauty Queen From Mars – Bon Jovi
  • Daughters – John Mayer
  • Little Patch of Heaven – Home on the Range Soundtrack
  • Longer – David Archuleta
  • The Nearness of You – Norah Jones
  • Quiet – John Mayer
  • Ready to Fly (Cold Start) – Richard Marx
  • Theme from “Greatest American Hero” – Joey Scarbury
  • The Way She Loves Me – Richard Marx
  • White Dress – Kenneth Cope

Now if only I could cram them all on one CD…

J’s student was magnificent and we vowed to do it again sometime.  I know it’s our turn to plan something and we were going to do a game night, but now I’m thinking about dinner & some music!

 

2 thoughts on “Aftershock & I’m Not So Old After All

  1. Pingback: Rhythm Of Love | Music MP3 Blog

  2. I am totally stealing your playlist. I really need a happy one right now. I am trying to find ways to keep myself up and happy! You actually are one of the best things in the world that keep me happy! Thanks for being you! I certainly love benefiting from it.

Comments here ---> (please?)

