Woulda, Coulda, Shoulda

I'd have to say that I pretty much have no major regrets. Minor ones, sure. Who doesn't? But if I could go back in time and change any one thing… I wouldn't be me. At least, not who I am now.

My dad died when I was seven. Sure, it would've been nice to have a dad, but I didn't and I am who I am because of it.

Everything that's happened to me or been part of my life, for good or for bad, since then has made me who I am now. And while I wish to high heaven I didn't have the struggles that I do, I wouldn't be me without them. And like I say to my therapist (when the meds are working, ha!), I pretty much like who I am. There are always going to be things I wish I were better at, but even if I were all those things right now? I'd still wish for more. I'd still wish I were better at this or that, and I just think that's in our nature – to want to be better than we are now. That doesn't mean we are dissatisfied or unloving of who we are or what we have now; but there is a fine line between wanting to be your best for the benefit of everyone around you and wanting the same things out of greed and insecurity.

Powered by Plinky

4 thoughts on “Woulda, Coulda, Shoulda

  1. Great post. I probably need to have the whole thing tattooed on my arm. That would be pretty, right?

    Love talking to you on the phone today, too …

  2. FWIW, I like who you are, too. This post pretty much sums up the whole of human existence –liking who we are and trying to be even better. Looking to be the best “us” that we can be.

Comments here ---> (please?)

