To-may-to, To-mah-to; <i>or</i> The Most Wasteful Thing I Do Each Day

It's hard to single out something when just about everything you do falls under the label "wasteful". For instance? Cleaning.

Why should I bother cleaning if it's just going to get messed up again? Paper plates need no washing and can be recycled. It's the circle of life!

Showering? Yeah. Just gonna get sweaty or spilled on. Plus, what about conserving water?

Brushing my teeth is a total waste, too. I can always get dentures, right?

Why bother to exercise if the calories come back every time I put something in my mouth?

See what I mean? Everything is wasteful!

I could spend time weeding, but they'll just come back, so… Skip it! Same with mowing the lawn. What about going to work? That's something that'll never be done. Sure, you'll get money, but it will never be enough so just turn to a life of crime. That way you'll have everything you want and the government won't be able to take a penny!

We all know that Facebook is a time-sucker. It can't possibly be good for me to keep in contact with my family and friends. Healthy relationships are positively negative! I may as well not sleep either, since I'm just going to wake up and commit more wasteful acts. Lather, rinse, repeat!

Except…

I am a child of God. He sent me here to get an education of sorts. There's no way to know when I'll be called home, so I'd better make every minute count. That includes keeping myself and my home clean. It includes strengthening relationships with regular and frequent communication. Doing the best with what I have instead of wishing for more to the point of keeping myself from being happy now. Taking care of myself (by being 'selfish' or 'wasteful' to a point) so that I have something to give or share with others.

I hope we can all see that everything we do has a purpose. We might not always know what that is, or how and when our actions will affect the future; but each of us has something unique and necessary to offer the rest of us – something we can't do without.

Keep that in mind the next time you are having a bad day, or feel like you haven't done anything of worth.

Powered by Plinky

One thought on “To-may-to, To-mah-to; <i>or</i> The Most Wasteful Thing I Do Each Day

Comments here ---> (please?)

