The Most Confusing Part of Life Is…

I like to think I’m pretty smart. I know I’ve tricked others into believing I am, anyway.  When you know a little bit about everything, you can make it sound like you really do know it all; and thanks to my obsessive reading habits I know enough to pull it off!!

The things about life that confuse me the most are the ones which require me to go on faith and hope for the best. Which technically is the definition of faith, right? Maybe I should be more specific.

If you go even one mile over the speed limit, you can get a ticket for breaking the law. And yet… If you drive the speed limit in the fast lane on the freeway, you will also get a ticket for driving too slow.

Huh??? So which is it; speed and get a ticket or go the limit and get a ticket?

In most Christian religions there are rules or guidelines, aka The 10 Commandments, and doctrines and dogma added on top of that (i.e. the Golden Rule, the Word of Wisdom, the Articles of Faith, etc.) that teach us how to live a more Christlike life so that we can return to live with God when we die. Being human inherently makes us imperfect/sinners, but there’s that whole Atonement thing which supplies a cure for those pesky ailments if we repent. What, then, could be more confusing than “Hate the sin but love the sinner” coupled with “God loves you, warts and all” or “Judge not lest ye be judged…” ???

So many of us call for tolerance and respect of those different from us, but are we afforded this same tolerance and respect to our morals/values/beliefs? Not usually. And what does that mean, anyway? Why are there so many smart and intelligent people out there who are also as dumb as my pinkie toe?

So… which commandment do I obey?

The last thing that confuses me (which is also completely non-relevant to anything previously mentioned!) is text/online speech. Some of it is pretty easy to figure out, others… not so much.

– IDK = I Don’t Know

– TTYL = Talk To You Later

– BFF = Best Ffriends Forever

– OMG = Oh My Gosh!

– WTH = What The Heck

-TMI = Too Much Information

You get the idea. But what do these ones mean???

– RME

– DUCT

– BYTM

– POTS

And why, oh why, do we refer to our husbands and children as DH, DD & DS? Because we don’t talk that way IRL, KWIM??

Powered by Plinky

4 thoughts on “The Most Confusing Part of Life Is…

  1. IHNIWTM (translation: I Have No Idea What That Means)

    CPJTA? (translation: Can’t People Just Talk Already?)

    The funniest part to me is how we have started actually talking like we text. We say “BFF” or “LOL”. It takes just as long to say “Laugh Out Loud” as it does to say “LOL”. So why do we do it?

Comments here ---> (please?)

