Please Go About Your Day As Usual, You Do Not Need To Take A Day Off From Work…

So goes the message when they want you to call back at 11:00 a.m. to see if they want you to come in for jury duty after all.  Because, I know LOTS of people who can just take off work in the middle of the day to report to court by 12:30 p.m.  Especially the ones that work in the Bay Area.  And boy howdy, do they NOT want you to talk about the case or do any research on it, or even scratch your nose in front of the judge before you are released from service!  Ok.  I made that last part up.  But I was really surprised the lengths they went to to emphasize what you shouldn’t do or read or talk about.  (Note to Big Brother:  I have not said anything about the case or even where I am or might be serving)  All this, and I get to go back on Thursday to see if they decided after reading my questionaire (wth? spell check says I have spelled that word wrong but will not tell me how to spell it right!) that they don’t really want me after all.  I know I’m sounding just a teeeeensy bit snarky, but as the woman who watches Law & Order in all its forms I am secretly trying not to pee my pants with excitement!  Nevermind the fact that it’s come at the most inconvenient time in the universe, right up there with “I just gave birth”, I still hope they pick me!  But you didn’t hear me say that, because I hear they’re wary of over-eager citizens as much as they are the ones who will make up any excuse in the book not to serve.  For the record, prepaid vacations, being a teacher or VP during state testing, and going out of town because your uncle is dying within the month are not hardships.  Extensions, probably, but not hardships.

Gotta go.  Law & Order, as well as SVU are on.  Gotta get my fix!

2 thoughts on “Please Go About Your Day As Usual, You Do Not Need To Take A Day Off From Work…

  1. I am jealous! I wanted to serve, too! Unfortunately, I did indeed “just gave birth” the first time and the second time was, “my daughter was just diagnosed with epilepsy” … LOVELY timing!! why can’t they ask when we’re just sitting around eating shredded wheat?? 🙂 good luck getting picked!! 🙂

Comments here ---> (please?)

