In Case You’re One Of The Few

…people who haven’t heard about what our family’s been up to lately, here it is:

Our middle son, S, was hit by a car on Monday evening.  He was riding his bike without his helmet on.  They medi-flighted him to UC Davis’ PICU where we stayed overnight and then we transferred to Kaiser Oakland PICU on Tuesday.  He has a small skull fracture and a small fracture on his lower spine.  There was some fluid in his belly but they say it will be re-absorbed into his body and there’s no need for surgery.  Although it was all really horrible, it may have turned out to be a blessing in disguise… the neurosurgeons found a calcification in his brain stem which was unrelated to the accident and may have gone unnoticed otherwise.  If it turns out to be nothing, then oh well, but if it turns out to be something… we have caught it very early.  So anyway, we return to Oakland on Monday for an MRI so they can further examine what this thing is.  His pediatrician called me today to talk about what happened (he just found out this AM) and he says that this neurologist is the best Peds neurologist in the US.

I am just amazed at the outpouring of love and prayers that have been said on our behalf in our little community.  While we were waiting for the paramedics to come, I heard one woman behind me chanting some kind of prayer about/with Jesus for him and she asked me if I wanted her to pray with me.  Big burly guys came up and hugged us, and kids have left notes and stuffed animals for S on the doorstep – and we have no idea who these people are.  It makes me feel good to see so many people turning to God and using their faith to show their care for us.  Our home teacher drove out with Honey & the kids on Tuesday night to help give him a blessing, when, since we were so close to the Oakland Temple we could’ve just called some missionaries over.  My VT brought me out some stuff last night to replace what Honey thought he was supposed to bring me the night before.  Shana the Beautiful has watched our other kids and a few of my friends from church have brought over dinner.

Either I’m over-medicated or there have been hoards of angels holding me back because the only time I was really upset was when we first found him.  I was shaking so bad and then the dry mouth was the worst.  But all through this I just felt like he was going to be fine.  And mostly, he is.  Once you have a brain injury like he has, you’re super-likely to have more (there’s a percentage involved in there but it’s all a blur what the docs & nurses said).  He can’t ride a bike or go to P.E. or play on the playground or any contact sports for 3 months.  He’s not happy about it because he -loves- teatherball.  He walks a little funny now but I suspect that will change when the spine fracture heals.  Little by little his personality is peeking out, but he’s been really quiet and hanging out like a bump on a log.  He’s also worried about going back to school.  When it happened, there was a football practice going on at the school fields so there were many people on the scene, and it appears that we made the front page of the local paper as well.  Many people have called or stopped by with well-wishes while we were gone, and some are still just finding out and he doesn’t really want to talk about it most of the time.  We came up with a strategy for him to say “Thanks for asking but I don’t really want to talk about it right now.” and he seems happy with that.

Thanks again for all of your prayers and good vibrations.  Although it’s only been a few days I feel like I’ve been away for weeks and I just want to crawl in bed and move on.

6 thoughts on “In Case You’re One Of The Few

  1. I am so glad that he is making progress. I have been so concerned and worried about all of you are in ours, and our family’s prayers.

  2. It’s times like this that we wish we lived closer. We feel helpless being so far away and unable to do the things we wish we could – like meet you at the hospital to give blessings or bring over a warm loaf of homemade bread. We sure love you and are (still) praying that your life will continue to be filled with little miracles. Give S a big hug from each of us.

  3. Sally,
    I’m so glad that he is alright! I’m sorry that I didn’t know what was happening…I too have been crawling in bed for my own trials.
    I’ll send up a prayer for you. May you be blessed!
    Kate

Comments here ---> (please?)

