The Bestest Bestie

Shana the Beautiful and I have a lot in common.  Neither one of us can wait to give presents when it’s somebody’s birthday, or even for just whatever.  In the course of our “what do you want???” conversation last week, I let her know that I would pitch in for her somethingsomething tape gun (???) that she wants to order to add to her supplies for her newfound passion of scrapbooking.  I’d said that I just wanted gift cards to either the movies (because that was the best gift I got last year!), or JoAnn’s (because I AM going to learn how to sew.  As soon as I get a sewing machine), or Target (because if you can’t find something at Target then there is all kinds of wrong about you).  Then later I changed my mind and said I wanted money towards a sewing machine because I used to scrapbook once upon a time, but then my mother-in-law got a job at a scrapbooking store and has pretty much taken over ever since!  And I really want to make something with my hands, and I love fabrics, and nobody else I know is sewing right now so that would make me feel extra special.

While I was doing laundry the other day, Shana called to see if I wanted to know what she got me (which by now, unless you’re as big of a moron as I am you should have figured it out).  I said no, or something, I don’t really remember.  What I do remember is that the other day when she was over here I heard her and Honey mubling in the other room so I jokingly called out “quit talking about me, I can totally hear you!”.  This memory comes to me while I am dusting my fabulous new bookshelf so I immediately start to harass Honey for a clue.  Which he will not give because he has some sort of “ethics code”.  BAH!  So then I start to bug Shana about it, but she decides that if she gives me a clue I will know what it is immediately.  Then some of Honey’s ethics must have rubbed off on me because I’m all, “Ok, don’t tell me… and don’t give it to me early because I am always ruining things for Honey that way and I am trying to be good.”

Good thing Shana’s just as bad as me because it’s two days later and she brought me over a printout of my gift:

Am I lucky, or what???  Now I just have to find a class to learn how to use it!

3 thoughts on “The Bestest Bestie

  1. I’ve been trying to learn how to sew too. It’s been fun. I have a beginner/intermediate machine that looks like it was designed for tween-age girls. It was a little embarrassing at Enrichment the other night.

    Have fun with your new hobby! Make something fancy and provide photos.

  2. I just got a sewing machine too! What a nice gift for a friend to give you! I hope you make something awesome! I am going to finish a quilt I started six years ago. Wish me luck.

  3. You are so very welcome! Hopefully, the machine will come today. We will be home all day due to the cooties we all have.
    OH! I ordered the AT Gun and the kicker is that the tape that goes with it only comes in case size for my fantastic gun that was supposed to be $25.00 turned out to be $54.00 with the tape! Uggh!

Comments here ---> (please?)

