The Thing I Am Too Tired To Write

On more than one occasion I have sat here in my chair wanting to say or share something from my heart.  Usually, it’s at some ridiculous hour of the night (which is, you know, technically the morning) and I can’t tell if I’m saying it the right way or if I just sound like a sleep-deprived raving lunatic.

So here I sit at some absurd hour (12:54 a.m.) on my third attempt to write tonight not knowing how to say what is just dying to spill out of my tired little head, knowing I’m just setting myself up for a craptacular day tomorrow (you know, 9:00 church and all), but still unwilling to surrender control and do the right thing by going to bed.

What I feel is best expressed by the words of Emily H. Woodmansee in the LDS Church Hymn No. 309, “As Sisters in Zion”

“As sisters in Zion, we’ll all work together; The blessings of God on our labor we’ll seek.  We’ll build up his kingdom with earnest endeavor; We’ll comfort the weary and strengthen the weak.

The errand of angels is given to women; and this is a gift, that as sisters, we claim:  To do whatsoever is gentle and human, To cheer and to bless in humanity’s name.

How vast is our purpose, how broad is our mission, If we but fulfill it in spirit and deed.  Oh, naught but the Spirit’s divinest tuition; Can give us the wisdom to truly succeed.”

As the time draws nearer for the Savior to come, the pull on my heart to make sure that we are all together – that we are all safely gathered in, grows stronger and stronger.

We have a job, an important job, to look out for one another.  To take care of one another.  I’m so upset because I can feel my crazy taking over and I can’t think straight enough to finish this train of thought out, but it’s important to me that you know that if I was once your friend, I am always your friend.  And if I wasn’t or haven’t been a good one, I am still your sister in Christ and time and distance do not diminish that.

Ok.  The little hamster that was running the generator for my last remaining brain cell has gone on strike and the purple fingernails (from being so cold, Lisa!) are back so I really should get to bed.

4 thoughts on “The Thing I Am Too Tired To Write

  1. Nice post! And very well said, especially for the hour it was written! I love ya and feel the “sista hood” even though we’ve never “officially” met! You ARE a good friend!

    Hugs!

Comments here ---> (please?)

