Never Say Goodbye

Unless you have to.

It’s kind of final.

My friend and neighbor, Beth, passed away yesterday.  Another friend of ours just came by to deliver the news.  It seems so surreal…

Beth has had terrible health the whole time I’ve known her.  She’s had a few close calls in recent years, but it just never occured to me that she would actually die.

I’m glad the neighbor told Honey instead of me.  I’ve developed a callus over the “sensitivity” spot in my brain and I just don’t get sad when I hear about death any more and I wouldn’t have wanted him to see that.

I wish I could say that I am sad, but the truth is, I’m not.  When someone I know has died, my first thought is, “I wonder what it was like for them?”  Did they know they were dying?  Were they afraid and made mental deathbed deals with our Maker, or were they happy to know it was time for them?  Is it like waking up from a really detailed dream when we leave this earth?  What do they remember?

So Bethy, wherever you are, I’m happy for you.  I’m glad that you’ll finally get to feel good in your own skin.  I’m glad your physical pain is gone and you don’t have to worry about so many silly worldly things any more.  I’ll miss griping about yet another new set of leasing office managers with you, and hanging out at the park on balmy spring evenings.  We’ll pray for your family and do what we can to take care of them.

Thank you for being my friend.

6 thoughts on “Never Say Goodbye

  1. Sally,
    Sometimes I hide the fact that I’m happy for the person who has past on so that people don’t think I’m insensitive. I’m usually thinking that they get to be with Grammas and Grampas and other loved ones that past on before them…and sometimes I’m jealous because I lost my mom. I’m sorry for the loss of your friend. Maybe when you are at the park in the spring you can toast her with wonderful memories!

Comments here ---> (please?)

