It All Started Out So Innocently…

I heard a song on the radio on my way home from my job as a Mommy’s Limo Service driver.  I was thinking of changing it until I realized I recognized the tune!  And I liked it!!

“Here It Goes Again” by Ok Go.  I classify it as British pop/not quite boy band stuff.  You’ve probably heard it.  I told Honey to not let me forget it because I was going to buy it look it up on iTunes when we got home.  Except of course we forgot.  And then today was a new day, but like the good earworm that it was, I had enough of the words to figure out the title.  Of course, I bought it listened to the 30-second clips over and over again, ecstatic with joy at knowing I can pretty much find any song I like by figuring out the title from the lines most repeated in the chorus.

As with most songs, there were several versions of it.  You know it’s all the same song, but for some reason one version is 2:42 and the other is 2:59.  So then you start looking at album titles trying to figure out which one is more special.

One of them was on a CD called “Now That’s What I Call Music! 27”.  Interesting enough… except now I have to go back starting with #1 to find out what all these songs are!  Maybe there are more out there that I need to buy listen to so I can add them to my collection now in the future!!

Except iTunes only starts at Volume 18.

Ok.  No problem.  I click through the clips.  What’s this?  Jesse’s Girl?  I thought that was Rick Springfield from 400 years ago but it says here “Frickin’A”?  Well, any band with the name Frickin’A is screaming out “Discover me, Sally!  I could be as aweswome as Barenaked Ladies!!!”

Well, not quite.  But they do sing a song called “Merry, Merry, Merry Frickin’ Christmas” which has something to do with the 2005 World Series.

And If you give a Sally a Christmas tune….

Yeah.  There was some collection listed for iPhones about Christmas.  I had to look, it’s part of my other religion.  You wouldn’t want me to jeopardize my soul, would you???  Plus, it’s practically Halloween.  Target’s had Christmas decor sneaking into the back shelves since Labor Day!

I need to go re-organize my Christmakkuh music collection.  Adam Sandler, here I come!

7 thoughts on “It All Started Out So Innocently…

  1. I stumbled across your blog because I subscribe to Google Alerts and one of my “alerts” is OK Go… you really should buy their cd ; ) If you loved “Here It Goes Again” I guarantee you’ll like the rest of the cd it’s from, which is “Oh No” although their first and self-titled is just as fabulous!!!

    Oh, and they are from Chicago… well, the band is based out of there, the guys are from all over the mid-west/northeast : )

  2. Oh my Gosh I love that song! The whole album is really good. There’s another song on that album that is really good, called ‘A Million Ways’. If you go to ‘Youtube’ and look up both songs, the music videos are hilarious!

  3. I absolutely LOVE Christmas songs. You’re just like me, only I have to play all my tunes in secret. My boss already suspects the insanity that runs rampant in our family. I’ve been cooking turkey dinners at my house for the last two months. Nothing wrong with that, except I LIVE ALONE!

  4. Ok, you’ve sparked my interest! Now I’ve got to look it up and see if it is one that I know. I love Christmas music as much as I love Christmas Vacation! Which is pretty freak’n much!
    lol 🙂

Comments here ---> (please?)

