Signs SallyGirl You Might Be Aging

I wouldn’t say I’ve been in denial that I’m getting older, I just really haven’t noticed it all that much.  But today… Today I noticed.

I’ve been getting over one of those late-night sleep-avoidance binges.  It was starting to get better, I’ve gotten to lights out before midnight for a few days in a row now.  Except for last night.  Last night, I was up until 1:30.  Playing catch-up all day is not fun!  In my math class this morning, it was like thinking was a foreign concept to me.  I missed the dumbest little things.  At least I knew enough to keep my mouth shut and not participate in class discussion, thereby revealing my sleep-induced idiocy.

D is home from school with a cold and we decided to have a nap.  When I woke up, I had an ugly headache.  I thought it was one of my migraines, but when it didn’t go away with las drogas I knew it was from sleep deprivation.  This really raises the hairs with irritation!  What happened to that period of time in my life where I could go to bed at 2:00 a.m. and wake up ready to go to work at 6:00 a.m. the next day?  Why can’t I do that now?  I mean, seriously… the only difference between then and now is that I’ve gotten married and birthed three kids.  What does that have to do with anything?

You know what else?  The “late” show is now any movie that starts after 7:30 p.m.  What the heck is that all about?  Going to a 9:30 show used to be no problem!  In fact, it was better because there were less people hogging the seats in front of you so you couldn’t stretch your legs out!

And since when did “sleeping in” consist of sleeping to 7:00 a.m.?

This kind of agressive life-sucking is not ok with me.  How do I tell my age to suck it up and act like a 20 year old physiologically?

On a completely un-related note, why does Ovaltine cost $3.29 at Target and $5.42 at Safeway?

Get back to me on this.  The future depends on it!

4 thoughts on “Signs SallyGirl You Might Be Aging

  1. I hear ya sista! I’m seriously happy when I get to sleep until 7! (I normally have to get up at 5:30, but was up at 4:30 today and unable to go back to sleep. It sucks!)

    I think Safeway is the hugest rip off out there. I’m not sure why people shop there regularly. Their prices are OUTRAGEOUS! (But the stores are usually nice.)

  2. I don’t know, but I’m really glad you told me about the Ovaltine being cheaper at Target. K is addicted to it.

    And the fact that I am so jazzed about that shows you, I am approaching middle age …

  3. I have no help for you but I realized that I was getting old the other day too. When you can see your wrinkles in the reflection in the car window while putting gas in the car you’re getting old (and it’s time to invest in some anti-aging something.)

Comments here ---> (please?)

