The Sisterhood of the Traveling Book Club

It was the second meeting of the book club I got removed as group leader from tonight. We had watched read John Adams by David McCullough over the past six weeks. It was a boring as hell lively discussion (if you could get a word in) and lots of people contributed.

But I’m not bitter.

No, seriously, I’m not. Perhaps if I had read the book instead of watched it I would have climbed the walls less, but I couldn’t stop myself from texting Ana Banana to save me from this tenth circle of hell. Just as the discussion had ended, no, wait… it’s not over yet! Someone had to bring up the religiosity of John Adams and Thomas Jefferson. I just kept thinking to myself, “Holy crap, why does everything we do have to be church related?!?!” I mean, we’re all members. We know we’re all members. We’re there as members, because we’re members… Do we actually have to bring it up in the conversation, too? It’s not redundant? At all?

Ok. Just checking.

Then it really was over. People went home, and the hangers-on gave out the Cool Girls Club vibe so we called an informal meeting. It wasn’t as rowdy as the Heathen’s Table, but the same spirit of sisterhood was there until we (reluctantly) decided it was time to go home.

You know, being 11:00 p.m. and all.

4 thoughts on “The Sisterhood of the Traveling Book Club

  1. That’s funny that it drives you nuts when they talk about the religious aspects of books. Don’t come to my book group. It’s a standing joke that our discussions aren’t complete until we have found the religious applications of the book. And no, I don’t think it’s redundant because when religion is part of our “frame of reference” – it colors our perspective on everything else.

  2. It’s doesn’t drive me nuts if it’s part of the story, I expect that. But it wasn’t really. And it definitely hasn’t been part of most of the books we’ve read (so far). 😀

  3. Book club until 11:00 Sean would kill me!
    It sounds like some of the other women were sad that you were deposed. At least the women in your book club talk and about the book. In my book-club they all kind of sit staring at me waiting for me to somehow “make this happen” and I’m thinking “I can’t do this with out you, people.”

  4. Amen to church talk. So there with you but you forget…I LIVE IN UTAH. That is all the members talk about here. Being members. Love it. At least you are reading which is more than I can say for myself. When you come into town next, we need to get together. I like your vibes.

Comments here ---> (please?)

