True Story

Ok, before I even start, you can just keep the in-person comments to yourself, Shana the Beautiful.

I cuss entirely too much.  Believe it or not, this actually bothers me.  So the other day I decided to stop swearing.  I forgot about it until this morning when I used my favorite explicative while driving.  I’m sure it will be slow-going at first, and I’m still a firm believer that sometimes, there really is no better alternative to shouting out a normally inappropriate word, but I really am going to try and ditch this dirty habit.  I would also like to mostly eliminate the word “crap” from my vernacular.

Sometimes when I’m talking to my sis, I hear her ask her kid(s) why they have to be ugly, or talk ugly like that when they’re being unkind to their siblings or friends.  I have been thinking about this a lot lately.  My children are fairly hideous in their treatment of eachother as well as their parents.  No more.  We are going to be the loving family, the family that is friends together, instead of the family that talks smack about eachother.

So… feel free to give me a look if I slip, but whatever you do, DON’T say “nice talk”.  Because you are not my mother.

p.s.  Going on a secret surprise trip down to Granny’s house for the next few days.  Won’t be posting until we get back, not that you’ll notice since I don’t post much these days except for when I know I won’t have access and then all of a sudden I get an uncontrollable urge to post like, 17 things before I go.  Pray for us.  I’m not sure how many times I can hear the same story over and over again before I have to stab my eardrums with pencils.

4 thoughts on “True Story

  1. I think swearing would be better than the eardrum stab. I’m just sayin’.

    And I cannot eliminate the word “crap.” Then I would have to say the **other** word out loud instead of just thinking it in my head.

    But good luck with the swear fast! Indefinitely!

  2. Crap is one of my favorite words. I cannot eliminate it…what would I replace it with?

    My FIL says that saying “Holy Crap” is taking the Lords name in vain. Do you think so? I don’t agree.

  3. You know me too too well. I will only say that I will make my best effort to stab my eardrums with pencils so I won’t hear you when you slip and cuss and say “crap”. Which by the way, is not bad.

  4. Oh, honey. Your dad never swore, that I can remember. Soooo, I’m sure you learned it from me. I’m lucky now because I work for a GA. Swearing is not an option. However, “crap” is usable and totally justified. I won’t tell you which GA I heard use the word, but suffice it to say, you won’t get your recommend yanked.

    BTW, your blog is hilarious. I loved your letters to the trucker and his insurance. Man, I hope you mailed them. Insurance Companies suck. (Oh my heck! The “S” word!)

    Love, Mom

Comments here ---> (please?)

