Holy Schnikeys!!!

So, I’ve been “gone” for awhile from here.  The kids were on “Spring Break”, we visited the fam in San Jose, put together 3 – 1000 piece puzzles (Ok, that was just me doing that) and I read three novels in as many days.  In that time, some awesome things happened.  One, I made Posole.  It didn’t work like the recipe said.  I was surprised to read that the pork tenderloin was supposed to be shreddable after only 10 minutes or so, and my suspicions were confirmed when it wasn’t.  Which was annoying because it was Sunday and it’s not like I can just run out for tortillas or whatever to make something else for dinner!  So I dumped it all in the crock pot and we had dip dinner instead.  (Dip dinner consists of refried beans covered in salsa & cheese and eaten with tortilla chips.  YUM!)  The next day…. it was like p@*n for my mouth.  Even better, B liked it.  This kid… I never thought he’d eat much of anything other than PB&J and spaghetti for the rest of his life!  Then, today I was browsing something, blah blah blah, and some virus tried to infect my ‘puter.  I had heard how hot Mozilla Firefox was, so I downloaded it and HOLY CRAP, everything is so much faster than when I was on IE7!  I know this is all very boring and mundane, nothing exciting whatsoever for you to read here, but these are the major events happening at home and it’s the little things like this that make the world go ’round.

Here, for your enjoyment, I present:

Chipotle Pork Posole – by Everyday Food April 2008 issue

  • 1 Tb. olive oil
  • 1 pork tenderloin (about 1 lb.) halved crosswise
  • coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 Tb. minced chipotle chiles in adobo
  • 2 cans (14.5 ounces each) reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 2 cans (15.5 ounces each) hominy, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can (14.5 ounces) diced tomatoes in juice
  • 1/2 cup fresh cilantro
  • lime wedges, for serving (optional)

1.  In a large saucepan, heat oil over medium.  Season pork with salt and pepper.  Cook until browned on all sides, 6 to 7 minutes.  Transfer pork to a plate and set aside (reserve pan).  Place onion and garlic in pan; season with salt and pepper.  Cook over medium, stirring occasionally, until onion begins to soften, 4 to 5 minutes.

2.  Add chiles, and cook until fragrant, about 1 minute.  Add broth, hominy, tomatoes, pork, and 2 cups water.  Bring to a boil; reduce to a simmer.  Cook until an instant-read thermometer inserted in center of pork registers 145′, 3 to 4 minutes.

3.  Transfer pork to a work surface, and shred with 2 forks; return to pan.  Top soup with cilantro, and, if desired, serve with lime wedges.

My thoughts:

Here’s the thing, I mostly did it according to the directions, except for the part where it was cheaper to buy a 30-ish ounce can of broth, a 30-ish ounce can of hominy, my pork tenderloin was actually sliced into 1 inch thick slices, I used petite diced tomatoes because although I love tomatoes I’m not big on huge chunks of cooked ones, and I left out the cilantro because it makes me gag.  Also, I used 1 teaspoon pre-minced garlic which equals the 2 cloves.  And I forgot to buy the little teeny-tiny limes.

Here’s the other thing, the meat was SO not ready to shred after all that!  So as I mentioned before, I dumped it all in the crock pot and the next day it was fan-freakin’-tastic!

One thought on “Holy Schnikeys!!!

Comments here ---> (please?)

