Deep Pockets

I’ll just come right out and say it, I WANT YOUR MONEY.

The MOMS Club that I belong to does community service all year long.  For the past three years, our club has participated in the American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life.  It’s a 24-hour race against cancer (but everybody walks).  Sometimes I get sick of this project.  It’s a moms club and we should be serving our core audience, mothers and children.  Eventually, usually a few weeks before the big day, I start to get excited.  I don’t really care that it’s for a good cause, I care because my friends care.  We’ve all been touched by this disease.  We get to spend up to 24 hours together, learning more about eachother, and getting silly in the wee hours.

My dad had cancer.  I say “had” not because he survived, but because he died.  In 1982 most cancers were a death sentence.  I don’t know that he would have done much better today, but the big C doesn’t put the fear of God into you like it used to because of all the advances that have been made.  Advances funded by people getting together and nagging their friends and relatives for donations for this Relay.

So here it is:  My team wants to raise $2000.  I personally want to raise $725 of that.  $700 because I was seven when he passed away, and $25 because this is the 25th year since his death.

C’mon girls, make me look good!

http://www.acsevents.org/relay/ca/manteca/sally_girl

3 thoughts on “Deep Pockets

Comments here ---> (please?)

