Because I Can

Did you know there’s a petition out there for a new national anthem?

Well now you do.

If that’s not one of the more asinine things I’ve ever heard…

Wait, I didn’t tell you what they’re proposing we change it to!

It’s R. Kelly’s “Ignition”

WTF?

The scary thing is, it almost has 100,000 signatures which means it will be up for vote on the White House website.

I’m not worried this will actually happen, the changing of our anthem.  I’m worried that they don’t understand the correct definition of anthem!

an·them

/ˈanTHəm/
Noun
  1. A rousing or uplifting song identified with a particular group, body, or cause.
  2. A song officially adopted by a country as an expression of national identity.
Synonyms
hymn – canticle – chant

 

Anthems are important to me.  Sometimes I need a good one to get myself to look up and out instead of down the deep dark hole I’m walking in.

Today it’s “We Weren’t Born to Follow”.

Others include:

  • Back In Black – AC/DC
  • Because We Can – Bon Jovi
  • Vertigo – U2
  • Fat Bottomed Girls – Queen
  • We Got It Going On – Bon Jovi w/Big & Rich
  • Bar-ba-sol – David Cook

What’s your anthem?  What gets you out of bed when you can’t?

 

One comment

  1. It makes me sad for America to think that we are becoming collectively stupid. As for a personal anthem, I tend to belt out Broadway tunes. My kids beg me to stop — it’s just too much awesome for them.

Comments here ---> (please?)

